Updates forthcoming

Apologies for the extended drought. Seven months is a ridiculous gap between posts. I do, however, have an excuse. Several of them, in fact.

After much soul-searching, I decided it was time to step away from the classroom, so I opted not to renew my contract at the end of the school year. The day after graduation, Ron and I took off on a much-needed vacation that involved a lot of Route 66, a little Pacific Coast Highway, and too many cool indie businesses to list.

We made it back into town the evening of June 5, and I started a new job at The Campbell Hotel on June 6. I’m doing social media, blogging, taking pictures, designing marketing materials, and just generally promoting the hotel, Route 66, Tulsa, and indie businesses to anybody who’ll listen. It’s a pretty good gig.

Because I work there, it isn’t really fair to review the Campbell here, but I’d planned to post a review last year, and I just never got a hand free to do it. Rather than give a formal review of my own workplace, I will just note that the Campbell is located in a huge 1927 building on Route 66, it’s absolutely gorgeous, and I basically just walked in and asked for a job so I’d have an excuse to hang out there.

I also have to give mad props to the girls at Spa Maxx, which is the Campbell’s on-site luxury spa. Audra repaired a disastrous haircut I’d gotten at another salon (which will remain nameless), and Aleah gave me a shellac manicure yesterday afternoon. I am now completely sold on the shellac thing, as my nails are still short and natural-looking, but they’re much less likely to bend, break, or tear while I’m stacking firewood or climbing into extinct volcanoes or whatever. (I actually did that on vacation. It was pretty awesome.) They also do massages, facials, and that sort of thing. Go check it out. And tell ’em I sent you.

Now that I have a normal job that doesn’t eat every single minute of my life, I should be able to keep up this blog a little better. In the works: a roundup of all the businesses that have closed since this blog began; reviews of an absolutely terrific Lebanese restaurant, a great little T-shirt shop, and several great coffeehouses; and a new project that will result in either an expansion of this site or the creation of a new one.

Stay tuned, and thanks for checking in.

~ by redforkhippie on July 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
