OK Country Donut Shoppe

I think the term “donut” is a crime against humanity. I hate it. I hate it almost as much as I hate hearing someone use the non-words “warsh” and “sherbert.” In fact, I hate it so much that I promised myself I would never, ever post an Indie Tulsa review of any “donut” shop. Doughnut shops? Sure. But “donut” shops? Not on your life.

I’m making an exception to that rule this evening.

I can’t say that OK Country Donut Shoppe serves the best doughnuts I’ve ever eaten (the late, great Chandler Bakery’s decadent French-silk bismarks hold that distinction), but its creations are easily the cutest doughnuts I’ve ever eaten:

The bakery at 81st and Yale is popular with kids, for obvious reasons. We lucked out and got there during a lull last Saturday morning; by the time we’d gotten our doughnuts and sausage rolls and staked out a spot in the corner, the line of young patrons and their parents stretched all the way from the cash register to the front door. The servers (I counted three) handled the crowd deftly, keeping the line moving despite the presence of several children who were a little overwhelmed by the vast number of options.

Meanwhile, hundreds of little faces — most stuffed with colorfully frosted doughnuts — smiled down at us from a collection of snapshots of young customers that covered an entire wall of the dining area.

I couldn’t resist taking a snapshot of my own when I saw this well-dressed young fellow picking out his breakfast:

In the interest of giving a relatively comprehensive review, we saved some room for a raspberry jelly doughnut (not pictured), a regular sausage roll, and a Polish sausage roll.

They were as good as anything you’ll find south of Admiral, but it’s the ornately frosted baseballs, caterpillars, and piglets that really set OK Country apart and make it worth the trip over from Red Fork.

OK Country Donut Shoppe, located in a strip mall at the northwest corner of 81st and Yale, is open 6 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Saturday. They take special orders if arrangements are made 24 hours ahead of time; call 493-6455 to arrange a personalized breakfast for your daughter’s slumber party or a peace offering for disgruntled staffers at an early morning meeting.

Grades:
Product: A+
Service: A
Value: A
Overall: A

~ by redforkhippie on April 17, 2008.

6 Responses to “OK Country Donut Shoppe”

  1. awesome.
    appreciate finding the hidden gems of s. tulsa …*L* no-one believes me that it’s not all franchises.

  2. My old (old) job used to order us treats from there for employee appreciate events. I always thought they were very tasty. My coworkers had a funny story to tell about doughnuts shaped like pencils . . .

  3. I found you in the Tulsa urban Weekly! and you even left refreshments out! Those Doughnuts look yummy! I am off to make myself comfy and explore your blog…

  4. I find it abominable when anyone calls them anything but olykoeks.

  5. How much is a dozen of donughts or How much is Happy Birthday Mackenzie. i hope some one gets back soon to me

    • This site is not affiliated with the shop. It’s just a blog that reviews Tulsa businesses. If you are trying to find out about prices or other specific information, you need to contact the store and speak with someone who works there.

Leave a Reply

 
