Evelyn’s Restaurant

evelyns1.jpg

It is 17 miles from my office in south Tulsa to Evelyn’s Restaurant, located at 3014 N. 74th East Ave. near the Tulsa International Airport.

Because Evelyn’s is strictly a Monday-through-Friday, breakfast-and-lunch kind of place, eating there means working late to compensate for the extra transit time involved in driving up there for lunch.

It would be worth putting in a couple of extra hours just to get a glass of Evelyn’s sweet tea or a bowl of greens … but it’s the fried chicken and pork chops that drive me to make the extra effort at least a couple of times a month.

evelyns2.jpg

The fried chicken (pictured above) — which somehow manages to avoid being greasy — comes with a delicate, crispy, gently spiced coating that tastes like something somebody’s mama would fix for Sunday dinner, and the pork chops are so good they simply defy description, except to note that they are huge and delicious.

Evelyn’s doesn’t skimp on the sides, either; the beans, greens, mashed potatoes and gravy, and cornbread are all superlative, as is the service, which is friendly and prompt.

I particularly appreciate the fact that the servers at Evelyn’s know what hot sauce is. Too many restaurants bring a dish of salsa or a bottle of spicy barbecue sauce when I ask for hot sauce. Request hot sauce at Evelyn’s, and the server will ask whether you’d like Louisiana hot sauce or Tabasco pepper vinegar. (I recommend the former for beans and the latter for greens).

Better soul food may exist in this world, but if it does, I certainly can’t drive from Tulsa to Mississippi on my lunch hour to get it.

To get to Evelyn’s, take North Sheridan to East Port Road, turn right, and make another right onto North 74th East Avenue.

For more information, call 835-1212.

Grades:
Product: A+
Service: A+
Value: A+
Convenience: C (the limited hours and out-of-the-way location make it hard to get up there as often as I’d like)
Overall: A

~ by redforkhippie on February 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “Evelyn’s Restaurant”

  1. I’ll second your review. I had lunch there a couple of weeks ago — great chicken fried steak! Those of you who fondly remember Wanda J’s, she’s now at Evelyn’s.

  2. I love this place. After several trips there for lunch, your review was right on. One of those little independent restaurant gems of Tulsa.

  3. Just moved to Tulsa and heard a lot about this restaurant. I finally had a chance to try it for lunch and I am thoroughly impressed and can’t wait to go back! The service was great…and the food was even better. Best soul food in Oklahoma hands down.

  4. I’m glad to see this review. I love this restaurant. Delicious food and really nice people.

  5. […] Evelyn’s Restaurant « Indie TulsaIt is 17 miles from my office in south Tulsa to Evelyn’s Restaurant, located at 3014 N. 74th East Ave. near the Tulsa International Airport. … Just moved to Tulsa and heard a lot about this restaurant. I finally had a chance to try it for lunch and I am thoroughly impressed and can’t wait to go back! […]

Leave a Reply

 
