Jim’s Coney Island — Never on Sunday

jims1.jpg

I don’t, as a general rule, believe in vulturing for a parking space. But I make an exception at Jim’s Coney Island — Never on Sunday.

That’s because it’s hard to find a parking space outside the little restaurant in an aging strip mall on the east side of Harvard Avenue. The food is too good, and too many people know about it. If you want to have lunch at Jim’s, you have to be willing to wait for a spot.

jims3.jpg

Once inside, you don’t have to wait long for your food — everything from spicy Coney Island hot dogs covered in shredded cheddar cheese to delicate spanikopita (spinach pie) served on a bed of rice and accompanied by savory green beans, Greek salad with feta and olives, and thick slices of bread — because the staffers at Jim’s know how to handle a crowd efficiently.

jims2.jpg

On a recent trip, Ron had a Frito pie, while I stuck to my usual vegetarian dinner. I’m off the veggie wagon at the moment, but I still go for the vegetarian option whenever I’m at Jim’s, because it’s as good a meal as you’ll find anywhere … and I like to pretend it’s diet food, which sort of cancels out my inevitable decision to top off my meal with a big slice of French silk or coconut cream pie.

Prices are very reasonable (you can stuff yourself for under $10, including a drink and dessert), and the service is quick.

According to a 2002 Tulsa World article by Scott Cherry, Jim’s has been in its current location at 1923 S. Harvard Ave. since 1968. Hours sare 11 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. Monday through Saturday. For more information, call 744-9018.

Grades:
Product: A+
Value: A
Service: B
Convenience: B (parking can be a little tricky during lunch rush)
Overall: A-

~ by redforkhippie on October 18, 2007.

13 Responses to “Jim’s Coney Island — Never on Sunday”

  1. I love your website, however, big chains don’t bind the little guy. You have great information but, your economic thought is a little off in my opinion.

  2. You’re welcome to your opinion, but I doubt you’ll find many small business owners who share it. If you haven’t seen “Independent America,” I’d recommend trying to put your hands on a copy ASAP. It explains, much better than I can, the reason I no longer do business with chains if a viable mom-and-pop alternative exists.

  3. Why would Jim’s get a B for service? They’re always fantastic when I’m there, and the review even points out how efficient they are. They deserve the A.

  4. Had you asked that question in October, when I wrote the review, I probably could have answered it. Five months later, I would be hard-pressed to remember why a given business received a B rather than an A in one category or another. The distinction is minor. Businesses listed on Indie Tulsa are here because I think they’re spectacular. I will note, as a general rule, that service encompasses more than mere speed; presumably, Jim’s fell shy of the “totally knocked my socks off” mark in some other area the day I was there.

  5. In my opinion, they don’t come any better than Never on Sunday! I eat there at least a couple of times a week and the employees are fantastic, the food delicious, and the prices excellent.

  6. […] […]

  7. can I please get your Oregano chicken receipe?

  8. I would also like to have your Oregano Chicken recipe…

  9. Jim’s should definately have gotten the A. Talk about top notch service, I would like to know who does better, especially with their kind of volume.

  10. Nobody is better than Jim’s Never On Sunday!While I love the coney’s and the 3-way chili,my wife and daughter’s usually enjoy the Oregano chicken and the Gyro’s.Our family eats at Jim’s about 2-3 times a month for at least 12 years now,and we have never had less than stellar service.
    No canned chili here…..Truly the best coney’s in Tulsa!

  11. I knew I’d found a new fave site when I saw this post about Jim’s! My dad had his 40th & 60th bday party here. I was pretty much raised on their dogs, 3-ways & gyros.

  12. I always plan my trips through Tulsa so I can stop at Jim’s. Driving 10 hours tomorrow to eat at Jim’s. Hope I get there before they close. Best dogs ever.

  13. I left Oklahoma in 2004 to live out West, and one of the few things I always remember fondly are my dining experience days at Jim’s. As good a coney as you’ll ever eat, but once I discovered the Souvlaki dinner, I never looked back. Completely awesome. If I ever make it back to OK, returning to Jim’s would be at the top of my must-do-again list. I hope they’ll be in business forever, because everyone on the planet should have the opportunity to experience that place at least once in their lifetime…

Leave a Reply

 
