Midtown Cycles

midtown.jpg

The first thing you notice about Midtown Cycles, 2731 S. Harvard Ave., is the spectacular mural painted on the side of the building, depicting a collection of characters from various periods in history, riding various models of vintage cycles.

If you take the time to go in, you’ll find a friendly, helpful staff and a good selection of bicycles of all types, from racing to mountain to retro-looking cruisers, along with the usual assortment of air pumps, helmets, and other accessories, and a small selection of power bars and carb gels for endurance athletes.

They’re great about taking special orders, too: I once strolled into the store and ordered myself a unicycle, which set me back less than $80 and took just a couple of days to come in. The guys didn’t even laugh at me, which impressed me; a unicycle is a pretty dorky thing for a grown woman to walk into a bike shop and order.

When it came in, I discovered that the seat was too high for me to reach the pedals comfortably, so I took it back in to have it adjusted. The guys actually had to cut it down a bit, which they did for me at no charge. I still haven’t learned to ride it, but at least now I can’t use the seat height as an excuse for my apparent lack of coordination….

I also purchased a good tire pump and a couple of packages of Sport Beans at equally reasonable prices. The tire pump cost about $20, which is more than you’d pay at a big-box store, but it’s also a better pump than the ones you find at big boxes … and as far as I’m concerned, the somewhat higher prices (which are comparable to other bike shops I’ve visited) are more than offset by the helpful, knowledgeable staff.

Midtown Cycles is open 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday. The building is located next door to Staples and across Harvard from Steve’s Sundries.

Grades:
Value: A-
Service: A+
Products: A
Convenience: B-
Overall: A-

~ by redforkhippie on May 3, 2007.

5 Responses to “Midtown Cycles”

  1. Show me a grown woman on a unicycle, and I’ll show you a lady with way TOO much time on her hands.

  2. Great review. I’ve done quite a bit of business there and have been very pleased with the helpful, knowledgeable staff you mentioned.

  3. I fully agree. It’s always best to support the local bike shop when you can. This one sounds more interesting than most, so I need to check it out sometime.

  4. Bicycles of Tulsa (47th and Mingo) is also a great place to shop. The older gentleman that sold us our bikes (we got matching entry level bikes.. dahh how cute right? puke) was VERY helpful, not pushy at all. A+ on the service and the prices are decent.

    • Midtown Bicycles is the BEST. They are honest and reasonably priced.
      On the other hand, Bicycles of Tulsa sold me a used racing wheel for the full price and did not own up to that fact until I confronted them the day after I purchased it, after I noticed several scratches when I got home.

Leave a Reply

 
