Meet the new boss

Anyone who’s known me very long knows how much I love circular plotlines, so it delights me to announce that nearly a year after leaving Tulsa to take a job in Missouri, I am finally handing the reins of this blog to the most appropriate of all possible drivers: Melodie Reader of Melodie’s Musings, who grew up helping her mom and dad, Bill and Kathey Sivadon, at the late, great Country Store on 11th Street (better known as Route 66) in Tulsa.

I met Melodie a few years ago, when I wrote a Tulsa World article about the 50th anniversary of the Country Store. When the store closed, I posted something about it on my personal blog, where Melodie popped in to comment. We’ve been friends ever since, and when she posted this essay¬†about her love for mom-and-pop businesses, it occurred to me that she was probably more qualified than anybody else on the planet to take over a blog whose existence was inspired, at least in part, by the incomparable customer service I received at the Country Store.

Melodie might be the only person alive who fully understands why I cannot drive past an indie feed, hardware or grocery store without stopping. She’s one of the few people I know who doesn’t give me the side-eye when I say the best Valentine I ever received was a load of rabbit manure to use as compost starter. And she loves indie businesses as passionately as I do.

Indie Tulsa is in very good hands.

Stay tuned.

Emily

P.S.: A few of you contacted me last year to offer help. I got back to some of you, but between the move and a hard-drive crash, I may have lost some of your emails. If you’re still game, please post a comment here so Melodie can touch base with you about contributing reviews, photos, etc. Comments are held in moderation, so if you don’t want your email address broadcast to the world, just let us know in your comment so we can delete it after we contact you rather than approving it for publication.

~ by redforkhippie on March 16, 2014.

One Response to “Meet the new boss”

  1. i was really hoping this site would come back. welcome, melodie!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

