Anybody want a site?

OK, so here’s the deal: I’ve moved to Cape Girardeau, Mo., which is about 450 miles from Tulsa. Obviously I won’t be in town very often to check out businesses or review them (not that I was doing a great job of that in recent years anyway, but I had some ideas up my sleeve right before I moved).

If y’all would like to see this thing continue, somebody is going to have to take it over. Any volunteers? I’m willing to maintain the site, pick up the tab for the domain name that redirects here, help moderate comments, and offer some editing and basic support if someone else wants to take over the responsibility for posting new reviews. I still get some traffic and the occasional comment, so I know people are still using the information that’s here; the site just needs to be updated and maybe have a new review added every week or two to keep it really useful to the average Tulsan.

If anybody is interested in keeping this going, either comment here or e-mail me at redforkhippie (at) gmail (dot) com, and I’ll be happy to provide more details. To do this right, you’ll probably need to spend about 1 to 2 hours a week visiting interesting little businesses and taking notes and photos, and another 1 to 2 hours a week (depending on how fast you write and how fast you edit photos) writing up reviews. One review a week would be extremely helpful; two a month would probably be sufficient to make the site fairly useful to the average person.

I had some good intentions about knuckling down and adding some reviews, but then I got a job offer I just couldn’t turn down, in a town much closer to my family, so those good intentions went right out the window. If somebody in or near Tulsa would like to pick up this project, I’d be delighted. There are a lot of cool new businesses I haven’t reviewed yet, and it would be awesome if somebody could add them. Hodges Bend, the Vault, and some of the little shops on Third Street and in the Pearl District come to mind. There’s also a new coffeehouse that should be opening soon on 11th, if it hasn’t already, and the Phoenix Cafe really deserves a post now that it’s up and running. Capp’s BBQ also needs some attention, and I’m sure there are plenty of others I’ve forgotten. (If anybody likes to eat, this would be an awesome project for you….)

Emily

~ by redforkhippie on May 24, 2013.

2 Responses to “Anybody want a site?”

  1. Hey I came across this site looking for reviews for cool places in Tulsa. I see there isn’t anything recent after this post. Were you still looking for someone to write reviews? I love trying new things and supporting our local businesses.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

