Sam’s Offroad Equipment

In the interest of full disclosure, I will admit, right up front, that I don’t know jack about the stuff they sell at Sam’s Offroad Equipment — which is why I’m not going to bother trying to grade their products or prices. I don’t know enough about them to give a fair evaluation.*

I do, however, know a thing or two about customer service … and the customer service at Sam’s is exceptional enough to warrant special recognition from Indie Tulsa.

I recently removed several worn-out bumper stickers from the back of my car. Predictably, they left behind a nasty, sticky residue that proved nearly impossible to remove, even with the aid of an ice scraper and some citrus-oil-based potion I bought at a franchise outfit.

Ever the mom-and-pop enthusiast, I wandered into Sam’s Offroad the other day to see if they could sell me a more powerful potion to get the goo off my rear window and bumper.

A nice guy named Rick waited on me. He could have sold me a bottle of magic snake oil, but instead, he simply advised me to use “WD40 and elbow grease” on the bumper. When I asked about the window, he said, “I’ve got just the thing for that,” and he proceeded to go out to the parking lot, pull a razor blade scraper out of his truck, and remove a thick layer of filthy bumper-sticker goo from two spots on my back window. He didn’t charge me anything. He didn’t try to sell me anything. He just scraped that gunk off my window and asked me to keep him in mind next time I needed an oil change or something.

I certainly will.

Sam’s is located at 4345 Southwest Boulevard. To get there from the superslab, take the 33rd West Avenue exit off I-244 and hang a right on Southwest Boulevard. Sam’s will be on your right, just before you get to Arby’s. Hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. For more information, call 446-5535 or (800) 446-5503, or visit their Web site.

Oh … and that WD40 thing? I tried it this afternoon, and it works way better than the stuff I bought at the franchise joint. My car has never been so clean.

* I would, however, welcome a guest review from someone who does. You can either post it in the comments or e-mail it to me at sundayjohn66 at mac dot com.

~ by redforkhippie on October 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

